Some questions I’m asking while off to my white evangelical church

Here’s a tremendous blog post featuring a set of insightful, paradigm-busting questions from a black sister in Christ who belongs to a mostly-white local church. These are the types of questions that invite everyone’s sincere engagement, as opposed to the many questions out there which begin by pathologizing “whiteness,” excluding sincere white Christians from responding and being heard fairly. Thanks, Lisa.

Lisa Robinson

Yes, you heard that right, my white church. Why not just the church? In fact, I bet the title alone will set up some keen anticipation for me to address   everything that’s wrong with the white church and how it’s whiteness is harming people of color, how silent the white church is on issues of social justice and generally are wielding it’s power of white supremacy against the health of the church. Sure, there will be some that will roll their eyes, shake their heads and wonder why people keep being divisive with race labels and such. But I’ll get to you later.

Because of this anticipation and it’s increasing prominence in our present day discourse, I’m provoked to ask some questions. They are not easy questions nor are they questions meant to be dismissive. They are questions that have been bubbling up for some time as I observe…

View original post 1,320 more words

One thought on “Some questions I’m asking while off to my white evangelical church

Share your thoughts

